Bergen County attorneys stand up for injured workers’ rights
New Jersey’s workers’ compensation law protects workers who suffer on-the-job injuries. At the Law Offices of Richard S. Greenberg, we want to make sure you receive the maximum benefits to which you’re entitled. If you suffered a work-related injury, we can help you file your claim, fight a denial of benefits or negotiate a fair disability settlement.
Workers’ compensation benefits for New Jersey workers
In New Jersey, workers’ compensation provides benefits to employees who are injured in workplace accidents. It also covers workers who suffer from occupational diseases. By law, your employer must provide insurance for the following:
Medical care — You are entitled to payments for all necessary and reasonable medical treatment, prescriptions and hospital services related to your work injury. Your employer has the right to designate a treating physician. You may only choose the treating physician if your employer denies you medical treatment or in an emergency situation.
Temporary disability — An injured worker who is unable to return to work for more than seven days is eligible to receive temporary total disability benefits (TTD) going back to the first day missed. TTD pays 70 percent of the worker’s wages up to 75 percent of the statewide average weekly wage (SAWW) but not less than 20 percent of the SAWW. TTD terminates when the worker returns to the job or reaches maximum medical improvement for the work-related injury. A worker who has achieved MMI but is still unable to resume work duties may be eligible for permanent disability benefits.
Permanent partial disability — Permanent partial disability applies when someone is capable of performing some work but not the same tasks as before the injury. In this case, the worker is eligible for weekly payments based on schedules that delineate compensation according to the area of the body that is impaired and the degree of function loss.
Permanent total disability — Workers whose maximum medical improvement still leaves them incapable of performing their jobs are eligible for 70 percent of their wages, subject to a maximum, for 450 weeks, plus additional statutory benefits.
Death — A fatally injured worker’s dependents receive 70 percent of the victim’s wages for 450 weeks, plus additional benefits for the spouse. Workers’ compensation also provides a modest funeral allowance ($3,500 for 2014).
Contact our Bergen County attorneys for answers to your workers’ comp questions
If you have questions about workers’ comp benefits for your job-related injury or illness, the knowledgeable attorneys at the Law Offices of Richard S. Greenberg are ready with answers.