Bergen County attorneys work to minimize the damage done by your arrest
Traffic offense attorneys at the Law Offices of Richard S. Greenberg assert our clients’ rights to a fair hearing. We challenge all aspects of the state’s case in an effort to minimize the consequences of the arrest for our clients. However, it’s important to know the possible consequences if you are stopped for DWI/DUI in New Jersey.

Costly fines and loss of license for first-time DWI/DUI in New Jersey
Although DWI/DUI is a traffic offense in New Jersey, not a felony or misdemeanor, it comes with heavy fines and mandatory jail time. The fines and penalties for a first-offense DUI are based upon the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) as follows:

BAC of 0.08 percent or greater but less than 0.10 percent — Loss of license for three months; $250 to $400 fine, $230 fee paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), $100 fee paid to the drunk driving fund, $100 fee paid to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF), a surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years and a $75 fee paid to the Neighborhood Services Fund; incarceration in county jail for up to 30 days; and 12 to 48 hours of service at the IDRC

BAC of 0.10 percent or greater — Loss of license for seven months to one year; $300 to $500 fine, $230 fee paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, $100 fee paid to the drunk driving fund, $100 fee paid to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, a surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years and a $75 fee paid to the Neighborhood Services Fund; incarceration in county jail for up to 30 days; and 12 to 48 hours of service at the IDRC. For a BAC of 0.15 percent or greater, an ignition interlock device during the license suspension and for six months to one year following license restoration

Mandatory penalties for repeated DWI/DUI convictions
Second offense within 10 years — Loss of license for two years; $500 to $1,000 fine, $280 IDRC fee, $100 fee paid to the drunk driving fund, $100 fee paid to the AERF, surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years and a $75 fee to the Neighborhood Services Fund; incarceration in county jail for 48 hours to 90 days; 30 days community service; 12 to 48 hours at the IDRC; ignition interlock device during license suspension and for one to three years following restoration

Third offense within 10 years of second offense — Loss of license for 10 years; $1,000 fine, $280 IDRC fee, $100 fee paid to the drunk driving fund, $100 fee paid to the AERF, surcharge of $1,500 per year for three years and a $75 fee paid to the Neighborhood Services Fund; 180 days in county jail; up to 90 days of community service (some in lieu of mandatory jail time); 12 to 48 hours at the IDRC; ignition interlock device during license suspension and for one to three years following restoration

New Jersey also has specific penalties for driving or riding with an open container, driving with a DUI suspension and driving while possessing drugs.

  • Share on Tumblr

Leave a Reply